EASY and QUICK and YUMMY Plant Based/Vegan Breakfast Swedish Style Pancakes

20170906_093125

This is my favorite no egg/no dairy/no flax egg pancake recipe! Within the last several months I’ve tried many pancake recipes since adopting a plant/based vegan diet but none of them seemed to satisfy my pancake craving.  Some were dense, dry, and hockey puck like. Some were made with too much banana and tasted too banana forward. I almost resigned myself to thinking I would never enjoy this breakfast treat again until I saw this post on the internet and it all changed  http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2015/09/24/swedish-pancakes-recipe-healthy-vegan/comment-page-2/#comment-3791645 .  I have adapted the recipe below for these spongy morsels of goodness.

The ingredients are so simple: oat flour (you can just blend rolled oats in a food processor or blender if you don’t want to buy oat flour-this is what I do), water, vanilla, mashed banana, salt. I love that you can not detect the taste of the banana, its just there to create a moist texture. Seriously it does not get easier than this. I just made the entire recipe using rolled oats in my blender, and that worked great as well and took seconds to blend. Don’t have vanilla? skip it!  If you like cinnamon and nutmeg, add a pinch of the ground spices to the batter, it will add a nice warmth of flavor.

The recipe makes 3 medium sized thickness pancakes which is how I recommend making them or 6 thin Swedish style pancakes (1 serving). The recipe doubles and triples beautifully.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oat flour (can be made by blending rolled oats into flour in blender or food processor
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 Tbls mashed banana or applesauce (I’ve always used banana)
  • 1 Tbls maple syrup, brown sugar, or sweetener of choice (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract (optional)
  • pinch of salt (optional)
  • pinch of cinnamon or freshly grated nutmeg (optional)
  • oil for the pan such as coconut oil (optional depending on pan/cooking method)

Directions:

The original instructions say to mix all ingredients together until well combined using a fork or whisk. (I use a glass measuring cup with pour spout for the “mixing bowl”) and let sit for 10 minutes.  Alternatively, you can use a blender and skip the 10 minute sitting time because the blender incorporates the ingredients so well. Note: This whole recipe can be made in the blender and you can use rolled oats since they will blend up with the water until you see a batter like consistency and the oats are fully ground.  Meanwhile, heat a well seasoned cast iron skillet or non stick style pan to medium high heat.  Add a little oil such as coconut oil if you think the pancakes might stick, the key is to start with a very hot skillet ( I use a well seasoned cast iron pan and coat it with a very thin layer of coconut oil to create a non stick surface, about 1 Tbls.). Once pan and oil is hot, pour the batter into desired pancake size.  Initially I made thin Swedish style pancakes and they were hard to flip and stay together.  For me I found the key was to use a hot skillet, let the pancakes cook till bubbly and set, and THEN flip them over and cook on the other side for a minute or two.  Even though the original recipe suggests making 6 thin pancakes, I like to make fewer pancakes that are thicker so I do not swirl the batter as you would for a Swedish pancake.  As long as you let the pancakes fully set on the first side before flipping (1-3 minutes depending on heat of pan) you should be good to go.  The thin Swedish style are harder to manipulate, I go for less flipping and I like the thickness of a traditional pancake as pictured above.

Optional: Some of the toppings I love serving these with are, Miyokos cultured vegan butter from Trader Joe’s, sliced bananas, almond butter, maple syrup, slivered almonds and Ikea Organic Blueberry Jam….YUM!!!  Finally a breakfast pancake I can enjoy and feel satisfied when eating!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

