“Harvest” by Stefani Bittner and Alethea Harampolis

largeharvest

The pages of “Harvest” are full of striking and colorful photography.  The authors provide detailed descriptions and guides for planting, harvesting and utilizing the bounty from a home garden. Anyone who loves gardening with edible and medicinal plants and flowers, fruit trees and foliage will enjoy reading this book which is full of tips and even some recipes.  What I appreciate most about the book was the recommendation for the optimal variety of plant which will produce the best yield/flowers/etc.  For instance, I never knew the variety of poppy flower which produces edible poppy seeds is a pink flower.  I also never knew how to harvest the seeds, now I do.  I would love to add to a vegetable bed to my garden with rhubarb, and they smartly suggest the variety which yields stalks which grow year round as opposed to seasonal.

Now that we are officially out of the drought in Southern California, I would like to share this book with my husband in hopes to plan out adding trees and plants to our garden including many of the suggestions in this book.  I am now inspired and particularly interested in growing crab apple, guava, finger lime, bay laurel leaf, lemongrass, quince, poppies, herbs and more.

I received this book from the “Blogging for Books” program for my honest review.  I recommend this book for anyone who loves gardening.

Leave a Reply

