Fluffy Buttermilk Waffles

 

20161018_111432

For years I’ve used a Martha Stewart waffle recipe as my go to until one day I realized they are sort of dense and not as light and cloudy as the light as air but substantially soft delicious waffles I tried at a newly opened restaurant named Red Herring, in Los Angeles, CA.  Eating those waffles, with perfectly amazing fried chicken I might add, made me realize I’ve been making waffles which could be much better.  I scoured the internet for a recipe using the search word “light” and I came up with this one.  Beating the egg whites separately and folding them into the rest of the batter is a technique I’ve used before, but the end result never wowed me enough to warrant the extra mixing bowls…until now.  I love this recipe because it really does create a light an airy waffle, with a slightly crunchy exterior…not exactly like the waffles I had a Red Herring, but a darn good substitute.  I really like that the recipe yields 12 waffles, I’ve had the batter in the fridge for 3 days now and the family just makes waffles when the mood strikes.

Here is the recipe.  I’ve provided the link to it but also listed the instructions below: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/fluffy-buttermilk-waffles

Recipe yields 12 waffles or it says 24 pancakes (which I have not tried the pancakes). Recipe adapted by Dawnie.

Ingredients

2 cups cake flour (I used regular All Purpose Flour)
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1 teaspoon sugar
4 large eggs, separated
2 cups buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
4 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Syrup

Preparation

1. Whisk together first 5 ingredients in a large bowl. Whisk together egg yolks and buttermilk in a small bowl. Beat egg whites and cream of tartar at high speed with an electric mixer until stiff peaks form.2. Using a fork, stir yolk mixture into flour mixture just until dry ingredients are moistened. Stir in butter and vanilla. (Batter will be lumpy.) Fold in egg white mixture just until incorporated. (Do not overmix.)3. Pour about 1/2 cup batter for each waffle into a preheated, oiled Belgian-style waffle iron; cook according to manufacturer’s instructions until waffles are golden brown and crisp. Keep warm in a single layer on a baking sheet in a 200° oven up to 30 minutes. Serve with syrup.

Note:

Batter will also make 24 pancakes

YUM!

Leave a Reply

