BIG BAD BREAKFAST by John Currence

bbblg

 

My favorite meal of the day is breakfast so naturally I would embrace the new book about all things breakfast written by the James Beard Award Winner, John Currence. BBB is also the name of one of John’s restaurants in Oxford, Mississippi and if I am ever in that neck of the woods I am sure to see how breakfast is done right.

It’s hard to find a restaurant that makes a truly good breakfast.  My standards are high.  Just like John suggests, a great breakfast starts with important things like scratch made items, lots of black pepper, and butter to name a few.  Most often I find myself making breakfast at home versus eating out because of my extreme pickiness for a high quality breakfast.

BBB has no shortage of interesting breakfast recipes from Pastries, to eggs, pancakes and waffles, condiments and even drinks.  All of the basics and then some are covered including how to cook and egg.  Some of the recipes which immediately caught my attention are the Sausage Cinnamon Rolls pg. 9, Banana Pecan Coffee Cake pg. 13, Honey Buns, pg. 18, Potato Hash, pg 88, Toasted Oatmeal Pancakes, pg. 107, Spicy Bacon Jam, pg. 192, Raspberry Butter, pg. 209, Blackberry Marscapone, Pg. 210, and Breakfast Sausage, pg. 213.

So far I’ve made the Potato Hash on pg. 88 and I must say I love the technique of par boiling the potatoes, it eliminates the starch and really creates a great hash.  I used the hash to fill some breakfast burritos with eggs and salsa, avocado and sour cream, it was one of the best breakfast burritos I remember making in a long while.  My added secret was to use a little Toronto Seasoning for the potatoes.

I also made the Breakfast Sausage on pg. 213 and I must say this is a fantastic recipe, and probably one of the most satisfying breakfast sausages I’ve tried.  I asked my butcher to grind the pork shoulder and did not add additional fat as suggested.  I mixed in my spices of crushed sage, fennel, red pepper flakes, brown sugar, fresh garlic, cayenne, black pepper, and salt to the ground pork and hand formed the patties and fried them up in a skillet.  I plan to serve them on a hot biscuit with scrambled egg for an ultimate breakfast sandwich. My only recommendation for this recipe is to cut the salt in half, otherwise it’s perfect!

20160927_184033

I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review.  Despite some crude language peppered throughout the book, I would highly recommend this book for any breakfast lover!

More Info:  http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/240966/big-bad-breakfast-by-john-currence/

Author Bio:  http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/authors/222833/john-currence/

Leave a Reply

