A Mushroom Feast

20160917_183616

I had some mushrooms in the fridge and no great dinner plans, or much time on my hands, so I decided to use what I had available in the fridge and create a simple vegetarian dinner of…mushrooms.  I obtained this recipe by looking at the index of, “A Modern Way to Cook” and found a great, simple recipe on pg. 150 called A Grilled Mushroom Feast .  The entire “Feast” recipe includes rice and tzatziki components as well, but for the sake of time and ingredients on hand, I just made the mushrooms.  I love this combination of ingredients and flavors!

Recipe from pg. 150 of, “A Modern Way to Cook”:

For the Marinated Mushrooms

  • 1 3/4 pounds of interesting mushrooms: King Oyster, Portabello, Chestnut (I had crimini-baby portabellos on hand which worked great).
  • 2 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 2 Tbls. Sumac (I did not have this on hand)
  • 2 Tbls. Maple Syrup or runny honey
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • a good glug of olive oil ( 1-2 Tbls. or more depending on your taste)

I tossed the oil, lemon juice, syrup, and spices in a bowl to combine then added the sliced mushrooms to soak up the seasonings. I preheated a cast iron can and when it was hot and I added them into the hot cast iron skillet.  In about 5 minutes the mushrooms were beautifully caramelized as I turned them every so often.  The recipe in the book says to place the mushrooms on a grill pan heated in the oven or a bbq to get nice grill marks, but I don’t have a grill pan, and I didn’t want to turn on my bbq or oven.  Also, the mushrooms I had were rather small so sautéing worked for me.

When I have more time I will make the other components of the recipe because the flavors of these mushrooms were fabulous.  I really loved the combination of ingredients used in the marinade, they complimented the mushrooms really well.  I truly enjoyed the first recipe I attempted from Anna Jones’ cookbook!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A Mushroom Feast

  1. Pingback: “A Modern Way to Cook” by Anna Jones | Dawnielovestocook

Leave a Reply

