“A Modern Way to Cook” by Anna Jones

Amodernwaytocook

Anna Jones creatively uses vegetables in her newest vegetarian cookbook, “A Modern Way to Cook”,  to create a wide variety of flavorful dishes which may be prepared and ready to serve in less than an hour.  She categorizes her recipes by the time it takes to complete the meal or dessert,  as quickly as 15 minutes, to 20-25 minutes, 30 minutes, or 40-45 minutes.

I am fairly certain this is the first vegetarian cookbook in my collection and I am really excited about many of the recipes that are in the book.  The author uses a wide variety of cooking techniques and flavor combinations inspired from International cuisines such as Italian, Indian, Vietnamese, Thai, using many flavor combinations and spices and herbs I love. The one thing I am not thrilled about is her use of peanuts in many of the recipes.  A quick substitute of another nut will do for those who don’t use peanuts regularly.

The book is chock full of recipes, and being new to vegetarian cooking there are many recipes which appealed to me right away and others which I may never make.  Either way, I would say there are plenty of recipes that will allow me to make this book a useful tool in my kitchen, and creatively incorporate more vegetables into the meals I prepare for my family.

Right off the bat, the first recipe: Kale, Tomato and Lemon Magic One Pot Spaghetti pg.24, caught my eye.  The entire dish is made in one pot, no straining of pasta, it sounds intriguing and delicious. The cover recipe, Zucchini Noodles with Pistachio Green herbs and Ricotta pg. 90-92, also piqued my interest.  Other recipes that I would like to try are, Gently Spiced Sweet Potato and Quinoa bowls, pg. 37-38, Butternut and Sweet Leek Hash, pg. 114, Green Bean and Chile Paneer, pg. 140, Quick Homemade Paneer, pg. 248.  The dessert section did not wow me because most of the recipes call for ingredients which I probably would not use, and aren’t typically used in traditional desserts.  I am excited to try a few of the dessert recipes such as Salted Almond Chocolate Bars, pg. 320, and Cranachan, pg. 324 .

This is a great book for a beginner home cook or someone new to eating and preparing vegetarian cuisine or anyone who would like some inspiration and creative ideas on how to add more vegetables to their diet and cooking in general.  I received this book for my honest review from blogging for books.

 

Update: I’ve prepared the marinated mushrooms from A Grilled Mushroom Feast, pg 150, what a great flavorful recipe for mushrooms!  https://dawnielovestocook.wordpress.com/2016/09/18/a-grilled-mushroom-feast/

20160917_183616

More info :  http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/539155/a-modern-way-to-cook-by-anna-jones/

About the Author:  http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/authors/225776/anna-jones/

Leave a Reply

