“Tasting Rome” by Katie Parla and Kristina Gill

tasting rome smallAs of recent, I have been very intrigued with Roman Cuisine and I am experimenting with several recipes such as Cacio e Pepe and any type of Polpette.  I was thrilled to read “Tasting Rome” to continue my inspiration for Roman cooking.  The book has a short introduction and background in Roman cuisine although is mainly filled with traditional but also modernized versions of old classical recipes, many recipes are from current Roman chefs.  From snacks and street food, to Classics and Variations, Off-cuts of meats and organs, Vegetables, Pizzas and Breads, and Desserts, there is a little something in every category that I would like to try my hand at making.  As I am just learning about Roman cuisine I appreciate the author’s mention of the classics and I have many recipes bookmarked such as: spaghetti all gricia di claudio gargioli, a type of eggless carbonara with white wine, guanciale and pecorino romano; polpette di pollo in biano, chicken meatballs  with pistachios in white wine sauce; and coda alla vaccinara, braised oxtail stew with raisins and pine nuts.  I particularly love the photographs and background story behind each recipe.  Tasting Rome was provided to me by “Blogging for Books” for an honest review.  I definitely recommend this book for someone interested in learning and experimenting with Roman Cuisine.

Leave a Reply

