Baked Puffed Pancake-a True Breakfast Delight

20140120_113646

If you want to have an elegant, light, and yet filling breakfast you have to try this recipe.  Why I have waited to try this recipe until now is beyond me.  We were watching Ina Garten’s show last night, on a Friday night, and she was making these pancakes for a breakfast she was hosting.  They looked delicious and easy to prepare, and they are…even more so than I thought they would be.  After eating these I was transported to Europe, this will be my go to pancake recipe from now on.  I can’t wait to make these again tomorrow for breakfast.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/tri-berry-oven-pancakes-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

For the fruit topping:

For the Puffed Pancake:

  • 2 tablespoons  unsalted butter, melted, plus 4 teaspoons for the dishes
  • 3 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup  all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon pure  vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon grated  orange zest
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Maple syrup and confectioners’ sugar, for garnish
Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Gently combine the berries and sugar in a small bowl and set aside while you make the pancakes. Place 4 (6- to 7-inch) individual gratin dishes on two sheet pans. Place 1 teaspoon of butter in each gratin dish and set aside.

Place the eggs in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a whisk attachment and beat on medium speed until mixed. Add the milk and combine. Slowly add the flour, vanilla, orange zest, 2 tablespoons melted butter, and the salt and mix just until smooth. Whisk by hand if the mixture is lumpy.

Place the gratin dishes in the oven for 3 minutes, until the butter is hot and bubbly. Make sure the butter covers the bottom of each dish. Immediately divide the batter equally among the gratin dishes and bake for 12 to 14 minutes, until puffed and lightly browned. Divide the berries among the dishes, drizzle with maple syrup, dust with confectioners’ sugar, and serve hot.

My Tips:

  • I placed the whole mix in a 10 1/2 inch cast iron skillet that was pre heated in the oven with about 2-3 Tbls of butter, once the butter melted and the pan was hot I poured the batter into the skillet.  In 15 minutes I had an enormous puffed beautiful pancake that had risen well over the sides of the pan.
  • Instead of fresh berries, I had none, I used frozen berries and made a sauce.  I used frozen mixed berries about 1 cup, a little water-about 1/4 cup, sugar to taste and a squeeze of lemon juice.  I simmered until there was a sauce and the berries broke down, blended the sauce with a hand blender, and then strained the sauce to rid the seeds.  The sauce paired perfectly with the pancake.
  • I used lemon zest instead of orange, and not quite 1 tsp., personal preference.
  • Don’t forget to lightly sprinkle the pancake with powdered sugar when it comes out of the oven and before serving.

I did not even take a picture on my first attempt because I was in shock at how this climbed up the side of the pan and expanded, I just loved it, it was so dramatic.  I woke my teenager out of a deep sleep to see what would shortly come out of the oven and he was pleasantly surprised to enjoy this delicious breakfast.  Since Saturday morning I’ve made this Sunday and Monday mornings as well, so I was finally able to post a picture.

Leave a Reply

