My favorite Corn Bread Recipe

Have you ever misplaced or lost a favorite recipe? Well, I lost the corn bread recipe below. The blogger who originally posted it no longer has a blog so hence my recipe vanished into thin cyber air. My sister was able to somehow magically retrieve the recipe on her computer. I don’t remember the name of the blogger but I think it was Papamo…here it is and in my opinion it is the perfect, moist cornbread. Everyone I bake it for asks for the recipe. Enjoy!

My tips, follow the recipe exactly especially with the wet and dry ingredients, it does make a difference!

Papamo Corn Bread blog post:
I’ve tried many, many cornbread recipes…always looking for the recipe that would make moist cornbread, instead of the dense, heavy cornbread I’m used to.
This recipe is a successful tweak.
I’ve combined a few recipes, and this one is by far the best I’ve combined.
In my opinion…a little sweet, and moist…next time though, I’ll double it for the 10 inch cast iron skillet to make it thicker.

You’ll need:
2 eggs
1/4 cup sugar
1 cup flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2/3 cups yellow cornmeal
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup low-fat buttermilk
1/4 cup of melted butter

Preheat older ovens to 400F, newer ovens to 375 F.
(I’ve learned the hard way that ovens with ceramic tops are hotter than older versions, by about 25 to 50 degrees)
Whisk the egg and sugar together. In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients.
Melt the butter and set aside to cool.

Add the dry ingredients, alternating with the buttermilk…whisking in between to mix everything evenly.

Mix in the melted butter at the end…

and pour into a greased skillet. Bake at 375 F until sides come away from the skillet.
Turn the oven to broil at  to brown the top for about 3 minutes or so.

This cornbread is nice and moist, and sweet…but not too sweet.
I’m happy with this recipe now.

Leave a Reply

